£39.99*

Reviews on

CLIMBING SHOE - ROCK+ GREY

4.19 / 5 717 ratings
620 users recommended this product

At Decathlon, reviews are reliable.

355 ratings Delete filter
  • Man
    03 March 2020
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Good beginner shoe

    Good shoe with appropriately snug fit

  • 24 February 2020
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    good Shoe

    I normally where a size 12 and it was easy to find in store. I have had issues trying to find shoes that go to this size. I love the fit as I can spend 4-5 hours with groups in these shoes

  • Man
    30-39 years old
    25 November 2019
    Use since More than 1 year
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Great beginner shoe or comfort shoe

    I have gone through 2 pairs of these shoes - they are a bargain. I have climbed V4/V5 bouldering in them and 6b+/6c in lead and top-rope. These were my second beginner shoe (having worn several other beginner pairs previouly) and I now carry on using them as a comfort pair and for roped climbing where comfort matters more and I can't be bothered to mess about with different shoes when belaying.

    This shoe has several advantages for a beginner. Firstly it has a stiff sole with rubber running through the midsole. Stiffness helps to support your weight during edging and means less foot strength is needed - something beginners will lack and will need to build up. Secondly, it has Vibram XS Grip rubber. This is a quality rubber and on the grippier/softer side of the Vibram range. Many of the expensive soes use the same rubber so it's great that Simond have used this - many other beginner shoes use a cheaper rubber. Finally, this has 5mm rubber and a thick toe rand. Beginners will burn through rubber with poor foot work (trust me!), so your first pair won'tlast long. The thicker the rubber the more they will last and 5mm is about as thick as it gets for climbing shoes - most advanced pairs will only have 3.5mm ruber. The Rock+ last me about 80-100 climbing sessions before I get down to the toe rand.

    Most other beginner shoes have these exact same characteristics for good reason. However they are usually a good £30 more expensive at least. THe main thing that matters is a good fit, so if these fit you, buy them because they are a steal!

    They are a few poorer features. The heel is padded. This makes it very comfortable but means there is less of a tight fit around the heel. This makes a difference for aggressive heel hooks. That said, the rand rubber covers the whole heel so you can get quite a bit of contact. The build quality is less good vs some of the bigger names. The velcro buckles are a bit cheap, and the rand loosen up and peeled off the fabric where the foot flexes a lot after 3-4 months of climbing. However, the shoes have always lasted me a good year and the rubber will be worn before any of the rest of the shoe wears through, so its not a major problem. Finally there is some poor attention to detail. The rubber has a indented Vibram stamp - Simond don't really care where the stamp goes so there are many pairs where the stamp ends up under the toe. This is stupid because you lose 1-2mm of rubber in a crucial area and can be entirely avaoided if they made these with a bit of care. Same with the gluing of the sole to the base of the shoe - a bit careless in places.

    I still recommend this shoe despite quality control issues. These aren't shoes you will resole and they will last you a good while and you'll lose the rubber before any of the rest of the shoe breaks.

    Size at street size for a comfortable fit and 1 size down for a tighter performance fit.

  • 23 September 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Climbing shoes

    Great value. Good quality. Look fine!

  • 25 July 2019
    Use since 7 to 12 months
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Great price.

    My daughter loves these rock climbing shoes. Excellent fit and at a great price.

  • 10 June 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    climbing shoes

    great

  • 24 April 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Simond shoes

    As a beginner these shoes seem great.
    I am usually a size 10/11 but for these shoes i had to buy i 12
    and they are still snug.

  • 24 April 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Seem fine

    Got these for my 31 year old son, he climbs better in these than the rental ones

  • Woman
    03 December 2018
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Definitely do the job

    Great climbing shoe. This is my second pair and they are great for indoor climbing.

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    14 June 2018
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Nice new upgrade

    Bought a pair of these to take my daughter climbing outdoors. Had the older design and these are a nice upgrade and less expensive! The Vibram edge rubber sticks well and the shape has been tweaked to give better precision on small holds. Closure is nicer too. Really nice shoe at great price, would recommend up to 6b no problem

TOP OF PAGE