£21.99*

Reviews on

CASCADE GLOVE

3.84 / 5 37 ratings
29 users recommended this product
Distribution of ratings
  • Man
    23 June 2017
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Good, once modified.

    I brought these as the larger sizes in the more expensive pair were not available. Anyway there were cheep, so not much lost and i needed a pair that was at least waterproof, my old pair had had it. Anyway used them for waterfall climbing in Italy, and they were far too warm, half a pitch and the gloves were sticking from sweat, only to then freeze on the stance. After modification the first night though (rip the as much insulation out as possible with aid of scissors) they work very well and kept me going for the rest of the week.

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    22 April 2017
    Use since 3 to 6 months
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Phenomenal Value for Money

    I have purchased many different gloves over the years, and had various successes and failures at different prices.
    I bought these gloves as a last minute decision to wear whilst icefall climbing in Italy. Upon receipt, I have to say my first impressions were good. These are a flexible comfortable glove, with a good level of insulation. The fit was better than many others I have tried, with not too much space at the ends of the fingers.
    The only disappointment was the stitching on the hanging loops at the wrists. It didn't take much for these to separate from the glove. I cut them off to get rid of the frayed elastic rather than try to restitch them.
    In active use, these gloves are excellent. Temperatures in the Italian Alps were a little warmer than usual this winter (but still below Zero), and these gloves performed perfectly.
    Warm enough to get away with a silk liner glove only.
    Flexible enough to provide the dexterity to place and remove ice screws and to handle double ropes effectively.
    The padding over the knuckles is just enough to protect them from the ice, and the leather palms appear to be robust enough to withstand extended periods of ice axe use.
    Overall, and excellent really good value winter climbing glove. I will probably buy a second pair for use in Scotland (always handy to have another spare pair in the wetter winters there).

  • Man
    50-59 years old
    05 April 2017
    Use since 3 to 6 months
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    SIMOND CASCADE GLOVES

    Good warm gloves

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    22 February 2017
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Good winter climbing glove

    As ever Simond have produced a good quality product at a great price. I have just been up in the Cairngorms and used the cascade glove exclusively while climbing. It is a snug fit, and unlike most gloves I have I cannot wear a thin liner underneath the glove. The gloves performed very well in action, dexterous when handling ropes and gear, warm, although not the conditions were only -6 feeling like -12
    They did get damp at the end off the day but that was 6+ hours of winter climbing. There were signs of wear at the end of two full days of climbing, but I would expect that. There are better gloves out there but you will pay twice or three times the price. For most people who only climb when they can an don't work in the mountains day in, they are great.

  • Man
    30-39 years old
    17 February 2017
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Great for the price

    I own several bits of Simond gear so when the Cascade gloves were released I was keen to give them a go. I've used them whilst walking on an Iclandic glacier and caving in the Peak District - completely waterproof with enough wrist protection. The elastic wrist straps are great and the pull on loops and very useful and sturdier than they feel. Obviously not as warm and a more expensive glove so would suggest a liner for very cold conditions, but will be keeping these as my back up gloves for winter climbing and a great glove for the price.

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    14 February 2017
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Ice climbing

    I brought these gloves on the basis that they where cheap and intended them as a backup pair to my usual "expensive" gloves. Having spent a week Ice climbing using them I found them warm, dry and an excellent glove. Both for rope work, handling ice axes as well a placing Ice screws. I will continue to use them back home as a general mountaineering glove. For the Price and functionality I don't think you will find better.

  • Man
    50-59 years old
    30 January 2017
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Designed for winter climbing elves...?

    These aren't available in my local store, so had to be bought online. I tried other gloves in store, and decided a M or L might fit, so I ordered both.

    Sadly, neither size fit my hands; the body and the fingers were too tight in both M and L, and the fingers were too long. Gloves that are too tight restrict circulation and mean cold fingers, and if your fingers don't reach the tips of the glove fingers, your hands aren't dextrous when placing climbing protection, or simply doing up zips. I don't have big hands or thick fingers.

    It's a shame, because the design concept and materials seem good, but gloves have to fit, how shall we say, like a glove, and these don't.

    If you have slender, elf-like hands and long fingers, then these gloves might fit you and be perfect, and be great value for money.

    I have returned both pairs without using them, so this review is based on the design, materials, build and fit only, not on how they behave in use. I will still recommend them, with the caveat about fit; buy them, try the fit, and return if they don't fit. If they were stocked in store, this would be so much easier...

  • 30 December 2016
    Use since 3 to 6 months
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Not mountain gloves . Used them on Kili last year

    These are not mountain gloves .

    Brand response :

    Good morning, I am sorry to hear that you had issues with the Simond Cascade Glove and that your hands were cold even with silk liner gloves. Our products are tested to a high standard and come with a 365 day money back guarantee. If you pop into your local store, they will be more than happy to offer you an exchange or a refund.

    Christopher Penn | UK Product Trainer

    Graham find this answer useful

  • Man
    20-29 years old
    15 May 2017
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Eisklettern

    Etwas zu steif zum Eisklettern

  • Woman
    50-59 years old
    21 February 2017
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Erstbestellung

    Hatte auf Rechnung Bestellung und meine Lieferung schnell und zuverlässig erhalten.
    Die Handschuhe wurden bisher nur beim Rodeln eingesetzt - sind aber super. Fallen vielleicht ein bisschen klein aus.

TOP OF PAGE