£39.99*

Reviews on

ROCK+ ADULT CLIMBING SHOES GREY

4.16 / 5 547 ratings
471 users recommended this product

At Decathlon, reviews are reliable.

  • Man
    30-39 years old
    25 November 2019
    Use since More than 1 year
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Great beginner shoe or comfort shoe

    I have gone through 2 pairs of these shoes - they are a bargain. I have climbed V4/V5 bouldering in them and 6b+/6c in lead and top-rope. These were my second beginner shoe (having worn several other beginner pairs previouly) and I now carry on using them as a comfort pair and for roped climbing where comfort matters more and I can't be bothered to mess about with different shoes when belaying.

    This shoe has several advantages for a beginner. Firstly it has a stiff sole with rubber running through the midsole. Stiffness helps to support your weight during edging and means less foot strength is needed - something beginners will lack and will need to build up. Secondly, it has Vibram XS Grip rubber. This is a quality rubber and on the grippier/softer side of the Vibram range. Many of the expensive soes use the same rubber so it's great that Simond have used this - many other beginner shoes use a cheaper rubber. Finally, this has 5mm rubber and a thick toe rand. Beginners will burn through rubber with poor foot work (trust me!), so your first pair won'tlast long. The thicker the rubber the more they will last and 5mm is about as thick as it gets for climbing shoes - most advanced pairs will only have 3.5mm ruber. The Rock+ last me about 80-100 climbing sessions before I get down to the toe rand.

    Most other beginner shoes have these exact same characteristics for good reason. However they are usually a good £30 more expensive at least. THe main thing that matters is a good fit, so if these fit you, buy them because they are a steal!

    They are a few poorer features. The heel is padded. This makes it very comfortable but means there is less of a tight fit around the heel. This makes a difference for aggressive heel hooks. That said, the rand rubber covers the whole heel so you can get quite a bit of contact. The build quality is less good vs some of the bigger names. The velcro buckles are a bit cheap, and the rand loosen up and peeled off the fabric where the foot flexes a lot after 3-4 months of climbing. However, the shoes have always lasted me a good year and the rubber will be worn before any of the rest of the shoe wears through, so its not a major problem. Finally there is some poor attention to detail. The rubber has a indented Vibram stamp - Simond don't really care where the stamp goes so there are many pairs where the stamp ends up under the toe. This is stupid because you lose 1-2mm of rubber in a crucial area and can be entirely avaoided if they made these with a bit of care. Same with the gluing of the sole to the base of the shoe - a bit careless in places.

    I still recommend this shoe despite quality control issues. These aren't shoes you will resole and they will last you a good while and you'll lose the rubber before any of the rest of the shoe breaks.

    Size at street size for a comfortable fit and 1 size down for a tighter performance fit.

  • Woman
    40-49 years old
    04 November 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Stretched

    I bought these shoes as they were reasonably priced and comfortable. However after 6 weeks they have really stretched, giving me very poor grip when climbing. I have decided to abandon them as the loose fit makes them unsafe to climb in.

    Brand response :

    Hi Anne,

    I am sorry to hear that the Rock + climbing shoes did not meet with your expectations. Could you reply telling me where exactly the shoes started to stretch? This way I can pass on the feedback to the product designer.

    Many Thanks

    Joseph Sutton | UK Product Expert

  • Woman
    30-39 years old
    09 October 2019
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Poor quality

    I started climbing a couple months ago and thought buying these would be a good idea to start going more often and improving my technique, I tried them once and was very disappointed by the quality of them, as when climbing the rubber is not good enough and I would slip all the time. No good grip at all compared to my other climbing shoes, also the straps are way too long and makes climbing uncomfortable. Wouldn't recommend these.

    Brand response :

    Hi Gemma,


    I am sorry to hear that the Rock+ climbing shoes did not meet with your expectations. The Rock+ climbing shoes are designed for an intermediate user, with a slight camber and asymmetry.


    The sole is half Vibram XS Grip which is one of the industry standards. If you take the Rock+ back to your nearest Decathlon store then one of the staff can inspect the shoes and see if there is a defect with them.


    Hope this helps


    Joseph Sutton | UK Product Expert

  • 23 September 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Climbing shoes

    Great value. Good quality. Look fine!

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    25 July 2019
    Use since 7 to 12 months
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    worsening of shoes quality

    Last pair of shoes was great (Sep 2018). Recently (since June 2019) I tried for a few weeks to buy new ones but noted the quality of the shoes is worsening / inconsistent, not only visually (to much glue has been used and smear under the foot arch) but functionally too (typically excessive removal of rubber at the most useful part of the shoes). This is more visible on the yellow than the blue ones.
    I would not buy any more shoes blindly, considering changing back to other maker.

    Brand response :

    Hello Jerome,


    I'm sorry to hear that the Rock+ Grey were not up to the standard that they should have been. I have contacted the product engineer to pass on your feedback as consistency should be the bare minimum expectation the Rock+ Grey should meet.


    If you return these shoes to your nearest Decathlon store you can, with receipt, receive an exchange or full refund.


    Joseph Sutton | UK Product Expert

  • 25 July 2019
    Use since 7 to 12 months
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Great price.

    My daughter loves these rock climbing shoes. Excellent fit and at a great price.

  • Man
    +60 years old
    23 July 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    great beginners bouldering shoes

    need to try on to get best fir as they need to be snug, however these are proving ideal for my introduction to climbing.

  • Man
    20-29 years old
    23 July 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Sole of shoe pulling away

    I wish I had of purchased a better shoe, after roughly 10 hours of use the sole has started to come away. An extra £15-20 would’ve given me a shoe that was better quality. Quite disappointed as it is obviously a manufacturing fault.

    Brand response :

    Hello Jason,


    I am sorry to hear that the Rock+ Grey did not meet expectations. From what you have said it certainly sounds like there is a manufacturing fault.


    You can take the Rock+ Grey back to your nearest Decathlon store, with receipt, and receive an straight swap, exchange for other products, a gift card or a full refund.


    Once again I am sorry that the Rock+ Grey were not up to the standards that they should have been.


    Joseph Sutton | UK Product Expert

  • 10 June 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    climbing shoes

    great

  • Man
    30-39 years old
    03 June 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Short life

    Been using them for a few weeks and the rubber seams at the toes and heel are already split and show the fabric underneath. Not happy about that, might as well spend the money on proper shoes now.

    Brand response :

    Hello Micael,

    I'm sorry to hear that the Rock+ Grey Climbing Shoes did not meet your expectations. Its sounds like there could be a manufacturing fault with them. If you still have your proof of purchase then you can take them back to any Decathlon store and exchange them for a new pair or a refund.

    Once again I apologies that the Rock+ Grey Climbing Shoe did not meet the required standards.

    Many Thanks

    Joseph Sutton | UK Product Expert

TOP OF PAGE